Not Your Usual Review Site

LEAKED FRINGE PILOT REVIEW

fringe

FRINGE (Tuesdays, 9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT): From J.J. Abrams (“Lost”), Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman, the team behind “Star Trek,” “Mission: Impossible III” and “Alias,” comes a new drama that will thrill, terrify and explore the blurring line between science fiction and reality.

When an international flight lands at Boston’s Logan Airport and the passengers and crew have all died grisly deaths, FBI Special Agent OLIVIA DUNHAM (newcomer Anna Torv) is called in to investigate. After her partner, Special Agent JOHN SCOTT (Mark Valley, “Boston Legal”), is nearly killed during the investigation, a desperate Olivia searches frantically for someone to help, leading her to DR. WALTER BISHOP (John Noble, “Lord of the Rings”), our generation’s Einstein. There’s only one catch: he’s been institutionalized for the last 20 years, and the only way to question him requires pulling his estranged son PETER (Joshua Jackson, “Dawson’s Creek”) in to help. When Olivia’s investigation leads her to manipulative corporate executive NINA SHARP (Blair Brown, “Altered States”), our unlikely trio along with fellow FBI Agents PHILLIP BROYLES (Lance Reddick, “The Wire”), CHARLIE FRANCIS (Kirk Acevedo, “Oz”) and ASTRID FARNSWORTH (Jasika Nicole, “Law & Order: Criminal Intent”) will discover that what happened on Flight 627 is only a small piece of a larger, more shocking truth.

WRITERS: J.J. Abrams, Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman

DIRECTOR: Alex Graves

-http://fringetv.blogspot.com/

fringe cast photo

I hate to say it but yes I did get my hands on a leaked copy of FOX’s new Drama, FRINGE. FRINGE is written by JJ Abrams and Alex Kurtzman, everyone knows JJ Abrams from ALIAS and LOST. So with this being JJ Abrams new show I went into it hoping to like it, or at the least enjoy the pilot because no one does Pilot’s like Abrams. Now as soon as it started I was thinking “again with the plane? Really?” but by the end of that scene I was both confused and very disgusted. A good thing all around.

fringe scene

I actually couldn’t believe they were able to be as crazy gross as they were, maybe FOX is good for something. Outside that the show feels like a X-Files(which I never liked, because I didn’t like the main characters) mixed with the crazy stuff of Abrams past pet projects. Abrams seems to have a love for showing a world alot like our own, but with the crazy dialed up almost to giant heights…but so far in a good way.

The actor choices work, I’m actually really glad Joshua Jackson is back doing stuff again, I know he’s had a couple small movies, he’s a pretty good fit in this show. His character is the only one who’s constantly questioning their actions, and that could be good if done right…in other words he’s the Swayer character of this show.

fringe 1

The main character Olivia Dunham, is played by Ana torv, who I don’t believe I’ve seen in anything before but I like her. She’s a good solid female character, she’s not weak or female insane…she’s the Kate character…lol

I get the feeling FOX told him “please give us a real serialized story like Heroes or LOST” and in the first shot he’s scored. FRINGE does have the FOX look, that dark look to their shows…I don’t get it but it’s something that Playstation has too, it’s almost as if theres a very dark filter put on everything they do…but that’s okay, it works for this show. I’m not going to ruin anything in the show, because surprises are what make shows like this.

The Pilot’s really good…really good, so much so I really wish we didn’t have to wait until September for it to start. Just one more note of criticism, I hate the floating location names…I don’t like them on HEROES and I don’t like them here. Oh and the freaking pilot is two hours and your strapped to your seat for both of them.

CHARLES GRADE:very high B+ (I can’t give a pilot a A, but this was pretty close)

PROS: Awesome crazy mystery, Characters don’t feel like every other character out there (although they easily could), Has the same sound structure of LOST, Unlike LOST we won’t be stuck in one place for the whole show.

Cons: Hate I have to wait until September to see if the next episode is going to be any good, Has the same sound structure of LOST(those damn Soap Opera violins), the show could let me down and lay an egg once it gets going.

FRINGE TRAILER

fringethree

The FRINGE musketeers

abrams

“I’m craaazzzyyy”

mystic negro

“Hello there HURLEY…oops wrong show, I’m on FRINGE too. I’m Abrams go to mystic black man.”

letsgo

“Let’s go, Charles is actually gushing over something..he’s finally lost it.”

One response

  1. Adam

    Dude, the LOST music is just a placeholder. It is a very early version of the Pilot after all. You can bet that, come September, Fringe will have it’s own distinct sound – and some of the scenes will probably change too.

    06/26/2008 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

