Not Your Usual Review Site

BATMAN:GOTHAM KNIGHT REVIEW

BATMAN: GOTHAM KNIGHTS

Anime-inspired direct-to-DVD anthology film. Comprised of six short stories, from diverse creators, including Academy Award-nominated Josh Olsen (A History of Violence), Batman Begins writer David S. Goyer, and comics scribe Brian Azzarello. It’s planned for a release window of two to four weeks prior to the release of The Dark Knight, and would bridge the gap between Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

So I held off on watching this and or reviewing it until I saw THE DARK KNIGHT…and I’m REALLY glad I did. I remember when this was first announced and I got a feeling that I wasn’t going to like this too much…and surprise I was right.  I love anime, have since I saw THE CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO when I was in 4th grade on a random channel. That being said, I AM NOT a fan of alot of current anime because I either don’t like the art style or story. I also don’t like when the big two comic companies trot out japanese artist to capitalize on the younger fans love of Manga…and it never works for me, UNCANNY X-MEN and that random BATMAN limited series with really ugly(IMO) artwork. So I hoped what I was going to get was really great short stories, with some so so japanese style art…I got the so so art in spots, but no great stories. Out of the six stories I only enjoyed two. I’m not upset about only enjoying two of the stories, I was upset that I had to wait through about a hour to get about less than 20 minutes of good stuff. The good stories, DEAD SHOT and WORKING THROUGH PAIN, were good for entirerly different reasons. DEAD SHOT was pretty good although nothing of any importance happened, it was just a reason to have BATMAN fight someone. WORKING THROUGH PAIN was good in the sense that it had a meaning to it, which the other GOTHAM KNIGHT stories had no importance what so ever. Hell they weren’t even fun. I was most disappointed in GREG RUCKA’s story. RUCKA is a pretty big comics and novel writer, he’s done great almost classic work in the BATMAN comic universe. But his story, CROSSFIRE, was really not good. I did like him having Crispus Allen in it, being how it’s a character he created for GOTHAM CENTRAL…but the story was a throwaway, just a really bad reason to have BATMAN save a cop who doesn’t trust him, for no real good reason. The fact that Allen’s partner Ramirez veers off the road and screeches to a halt in the middle of a abandoned lot didn’t bug me, it was when she looked to her left and saw the russians getting ready for a deal with the Maronies was when I knew this was heading to the crap pile quick.  This was not RUCKA’s finest hour, it was phoned in. And BATMAN BEGINS co writer DAVID GOYER, while his story wasn’t out and out awful it was dumb and this is a common theme for this review…pointless. His story was just a reason to have KILLER CROC and SCARECROW show up…for about two seconds. Oh and BATMAN throwing a explosive in a guys mouth…even if he is a large man who resembles a giant man like crocidile is stupid.

I’m not even going to talk about I’VE GOT A STORY TO TELL YOU, which starts off the entire dvd…it should have been shelved and never done. It was just the same old rip off of RASHMON and a old GOOD episode of BATMAN:THE ANIMATED SERIES. Oh and bulletproof batman, was really dumb. I never thought I’d be annoyed by a villain blaming BATMAN for killing him when he just got shot in the freaking shoulder. BAD! I have to say the best animation was in the story with the least amount of action, WORKING THROUGH PAIN, it looked the best out of all the stories. It had a clean, fluid look. But that being said I did have a problem with KEVIN CONROY as batman…I know all the old animated fans are going to disagree, but with the design of Bruce Wayne being young…CONROY’s voice just doesn’t fit. I apperciate them for trying to appeal to old fans like me, but this isn’t the way to do it. Why couldn’t they just do another MASK OF THE PHANTASM style batman animated movie and I’d be down for CONROY, but not this. I’m just really glad I didn’t pay money for this movie….If I would have spent $30 on this for BLU RAY I would have freaked out.

CHARLES’ GRADE:D-

PROS:Ummmm…two good stories and one sub par stories against three god awful ones. Makes me want to buy the big Complete set of BATMAN:THE ANIMATED SERIES so I can see good animated Batman.

CONS:only about 18 minutes of good stories…that comes after watching a hour of this movie. Some pretty ugly animation choices. Getting someone to pay actual money for this is just a evil thing to do. Kills the so far flawless tally of awesome DC animated movies.

I don’t have any pics or funny comments cause this dvd sucked and I didn’t want to live with it too long.

Leave a Reply

