Not Your Usual Review Site

PINEAPPLE EXPRESS EARLY REVIEW

PINEAPPLE EXPRESS EARLY REVIEW

So I had the awesome opportunity to see an advance screening of the newest Apatow gang comedy, and went into it with a huge love of the Apatow camp. I’ve been looking forward to this movie since it was first announced during the promotion of SUPERBAD. So you can imagine the height of anticipation I had during the opening scene of this comedy and I was treated to a awesome comedy (and some cool swag). First off this movie is a action comedy in every sense of the word. Even to my surprise there was alot more action andd violence than I expected. This is a action comedy in the vain of STIR CRAZY. JAMES FRANCO and SETH ROGEN are a classic team up, like MICHAEL CERA and JONAH HILL, RICHARD PRYOR and GENE WILDER. I thought they were a awesome team in FREAKS AND GEEKS. This was them indulging their ridiculously believable BRO-MANCE. I don’t really remember the first time I heard of BRO-MANCE but as a guy involved in two long term BRO-MANCES( Best friends John and Te-lo) and a newly formed one (what up Joesy) this movie was heaven…and hell. PINEAPPLE EXPRESS at it’s core is a movie about a BRO-MANCE, although it’s not mutual at first, it does turn into a classic Bro-mance. Once you notice the Pro Bro-Mance stance of the movie, it can come off as very gay, although not smack you in the face overt. I actually found the similarties between seeming homosexuality and straight men friendship hilarious(it’s a fine line if you think about it). I didn’t expect to come out of this movie dissecting Bro-Mance, but that was a welcomed change to what I usually come out of a movie thinking(Why did I waste my money). Can’t wait to see this movie again, although this kind of comedy(which I usually find to have a depth that lends itself to self interpertation or just plain simple funny) quite enjoyable and upon frequent viewing will and can sour you on comedy that tries and fails at having depth(Harold and Kumar 2 I’m looking at you).

Bro-Mance for life.

CHARLES’ GRADE:A

PROS: BRO-MANCE, ACTION, COMEDY, SETH ROGEN & JAMES FRANCO back together

CONS: Feels short sadly, but that’s kind of a good thing too…leave them wanting more

LETS HUG IT OUT

"LET'S HUG IT OUT"

Leave a Reply

