Not Your Usual Review Site

NEVER BACK DOWN dvd review

Ok, I’m just now watching this movie because I was not stoked to watch a MMA KARATE KID movie. But when I watched it it reminded me why I loved those movies. NEVER BACK DOWN is exactly what I thought it would be, a MMA KARATE KID…but that’s not all bad. KARATE KID is a 80’s classic, so why was I adverse to seeing it redone? I don’t know. The movies not great by any means, but the story is simple and goes by the numbers for these type of movies. Boy with a problem goes to a new town, meets a hot girl, gets into a rivalry with the main blond haired d-bag because he’s talking to said girl,boy finds someone to train him and be a father figure, villain takes the steps to force the hero to fight him one last time…and that’s the end of the movie. NEVER BACK DOWN isn’t going to win any awards, but it should be commended for the choice in camera style. The style is what ultimately kicks this movie out of the range of mediocrity. The choices made with the camera are fresh for this type of movie, and welcomed. I won’t say everybody is going to love this movie, I just like it in the same way I like KARATE KID and some of the sequels. Karate was the “it” fighting style in the 80’s and KARATE KID was a perfect snap shot for that style. Now MMA is the big thing so this movie just does what KARATE KID did.

CHARLES’ GRADE:B-

PROS:GREAT CHOICE IN VISUAL STYLE, AMBER HEARD, SEAN FARRIS

CONS: SOME STUFF IS STUPID BUT IT’S TO BE EXPECTED, DVD FEATURES ARE MINIMAL

Leave a Reply

