Not Your Usual Review Site

COMICS OF THE WEEK 8/27/08

MY PICK OF THE WEEK

LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT

FINAL CRISIS: LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT

Final Crisis is turning into my kind of event, it has heart and real stakes. As a huge fan of DC COMICS, I’ve seen the DCU heroes fight big battles forever. This is the first time we get to see what they do before what could be the last battle they fight. I loved the sentiment that things have looked bad before, but when SUPERMAN tells them that they’re bad, everyone listens and takes it serious. So many great scenes in this from SUPERMAN sitting on the porch with PA KENT, to NIGHTWING going on patrol with BATMAN and ROBIN one last time, to GREEN ARROW babysitting RED ARROW’s daughter…just heartbreaking and very true to the rich history of the characters. This book also made me look at GEO-FORCE differently, I never really enjoyed the character and wasn’t to pleased that he got a spot in the revamped JLA by Brad Meltzer…but with this I see what Meltzer was doing the whole time. This is what I wish more mainstream comics were.

CHARLES’ GRADE: A


Pick of the Week Runner-up

ROGUES REVENGE #2

FINAL CRISIS: ROGUE'S REVENGE #2

Geoff Johns can do no wrong with characters he revitalized. The rogues are easily the most interesting and well thought out villains in comics today. They’re easy to relate to, but truly threathening in a fight. Unlike most villains they have a certain code and they will do anything to up hold it.


The ‘WHY DO I STILL READ THIS OF THE WEEK’

This was a close one, but Spider-man took it by a hair.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #569

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #569

I liked the last storyline but this latest storyline just reminds me of the problems I have with the Spidey Universe right now.  I’ve had various levels of interest in BND. When I enjoy it, it’s good…ULTIMATE SPIDER-MAN is still significantly better, but my problem with certain storylines and the whole thing that it’s just the millionth time I’ve seen things is starting to weigh on me. In this issue the THUNDERBOLTS show up, and I didn’t really care. I know NORMAN is a douche and I know sooner or later he’s going to go down, it’s boring…and it’s been done a million times, better I may add. I’m not even going to get into the ANTI-VENOM thing or the fact that neither Norman or the symbiote(which was on peter’s body) know Peter is SPIDER-MAN..ugh. I thought the last storyline was good, but this is just back to a rehash or remix of all the Spidey stories I read when I was younger. It’s the whole ‘SIMPSONS did it’ arguement…I’m bored, can I get something else?

CHARLES’ GRADE:C-

‘WHY DO I STILL READ THIS’ RUNNER UP

SUPERMAN#665

SUPERMAN#679

I have never dropped a SUPERMAN book, it’s not in my nature. I’ll stand up for SUPERMAN’s books till I’m blue in the face, but with me actually enjoying the last 5 years of SUPERMAN stories this is a big deal. At least this is a better issue than the last…but why do I feel like words and scenes are constantly missing from this book? ‘For why’ you ask, well that ‘for why’ crap and stuff like it in the dialogue are kinda getting to me. Lois not being a strong female and acting like 1970’s Mary Jane gets to me and a Superman book where Supes and his supporting cast are acting very strangely. Plus whatever his name is(the villain) sucks. This is BORING. At least Robinson writes KRYPTO in a interesting way that fits, to bad he can’t do that for the humanoid characters. Please make it stop hurting. I was already kinda not digging the idea of a ton of Kryptonians coming to earth(it defeats the whole SUPERMAN thing in DCU), but Robinson on the book is boring me. I’m going to give it 3 more issues but I think I may be dropping this book…it’s just bad.

COVER OF THE WEEK

TRUE STORY #@

FANTASTIC FOUR: TRUE STORY #@

Leave a Reply

