Not Your Usual Review Site

COMICS OF THE WEEK 9/4/08

MY PICK OF THE WEEK

SECRET SIX #1

SECRET SIX #1

I was looking forward to this book, but it exceeded even my lofty terms of awesome. Gail Simone has literally taken the idea of a villain “team” and elevated it. Now I am a bit partial to villain team books (The All New Exiles with Juggernaut is a old favorite of mine). This book takes that old idea of villains taking odd jobs and makes it super hard core. I mean when you have CATMAN(I know the name sounds like BATMAN, that’s the point) seemingly kill a group of skin heads in a convenice store I’m down. Also dead shot stealing smokes was freaking hilarious. Just so good, oh and Bane is on the team. Not dumb as rocks Bane, but the awesome smart Bane from Checkmate…so good.

CHARLES’ GRADE:A


Pick of the week Runner-Up

DETECTIVE COMICS #848

DETECTIVE COMICS #848

This seems to be deja vu, my pick and runner up are both DC books again. This book was P.O.W before I read Secret Six. I’ve always really liked HUSH and loved the fact that HUSH can get to Batman in ways no one else can.


Honorable Mention

TRINITY #14

TRINITY #14

I’ve been pretty into this weekly series since the beginning, although some of it made no sense.This new story with SUPERMAN acting like BATMAN, WONDER WOMAN acting like SUPERMAN, and BATMAN acting like WONDER WOMAN is pretty intriguing stuff. Plus SUPERMAN going all hardcore is nice to see, being that he keeps himself on a short leash so he doesn’t kill anyone.


The ‘WHY AM I STILL READING THIS?’ of the week

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #570

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #570

Deja Vu strikes again, I hope I’m not blasting Spider-man every week…but this story is so dumb. As a life long Spidey man, I’m actually disappointed that after the turn around Amazing was starting to experience that we’ve slid so far back. This is just awful stuff, this story wouldn’t even be good back in the 90’s. The way peter looks in that variant cover is how I feel when I’m reading this story. But the John Romita Jr art is simply heavenly. Most of my old runs of Spidey have Romita on the art, so it is nice to see him back..but it’s sad he’s back for this story.

CHARLE’S GRADE: D- (hopefully next issue doesn’t get even worse…but I think it will)

‘WHY DO I STILL READ THIS’ RUNNER UP

SUPERGIRL #33

SUPERGIRL #33

Deja Vu seems to be the word of the day. At least this time it’s not the same comic, it’s just a comic in the family. I’ll always say how much I love Superman and his “family” of characters, but Supergirls a bit of a joke around the comic community. She’s been through more ups and downs than anyone. Her book can go from great to awful in the span of one issue, but that hasn’t been the case in a while. Now I think the last issue I loved or even liked was about issue #25 or 26…so that should let you know.  This book has totally gone off the tracks. The last storyline was awful. I love Supergirl, hell I love all of DC’s teen books because they’re the only big company that seems to be able to do it well…but this proves that sentiment wrong. Please bring SUPERBOY back so we can stop focusing on SUPERGIRL…ugh. I hate to say that there’s two SUPERMAN family books that I’m hating right now, this is new territory for me…at least I have ACTION COMICS.


COVER OF THE WEEK

Leave a Reply

