Not Your Usual Review Site

WHAT I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO: COMICS FOR 9/17/08

Out of the books coming out on 9/17/08 these are the ones I’m looking forward too and a couple I’m not.

LOOKING FORWARD TO

ALL-STAR SUPERMAN #12

ALL-STAR SUPERMAN #12

Description : “The Man of Steel has faced twelve super-challenges. Now, as Lex Luthor’s brilliant, criminal machinations come together, what fate awaits the doomed Superman? This is the final, dramatic chapter of the incredible, award-winning 12-issue run of ALL STAR SUPERMAN by Grant Morrison, Frank Quitely and Jamie Grant – don’t miss it!”

This is one of the best books being published in comics today. You could put this book in anybody’s hand and they’d more than likely love it. This book is a love letter to the character of Superman and old school comics.

CAPTAIN BRITAIN AND THE MI-13 #4

CAPTAIN BRITAIN AND THE MI-13 #5

Description : “Blade is back.  And what is Lady Jacqueline Falsworth to him, except another dead vampire?  Plus: Excalibur in the suburbs, the tears of a Skrull and tea with Union Jack.  Pick up the hottest book to come out of SECRET INVASION, by Paul Cornell (Dr. Who, WISDOM) and Leonard Kirk (HULK: WARBOUND, Batman).”

I’m glad this awesome book is done with Secret Invasion…but it’s kinda weird how they let them take out all the skrulls in four issues and then they don’t go help America…lol. Whatever. This is one of the top 4 Marvel books I read(that being said I usually only enjoy about 6 Marvel books right now).

ACTION COMICS #

ACTION COMICS #869

Description : “Brainiac” part 4 of 5! Krypton’s greatest adversary has set his sights on Superman and his homeworld as his endless quest for absolute knowledge continues. But the horrors within Brainiac’s ship are nothing compared to the alien behind it. Superman’s world is about to change as the build-up to the Superman event of 2008 races towards its conclusion!”

This is the book I look forward the most each month. I love Superman and this is the last place I have to get quality Superman centric stories(SUPERMAN is being written horribly by the legendary James Robinson).

ROBIN #164

ROBIN #178

Description : “The repercussions from “Batman R.I.P.” have shaken Robin to the core.With all his relationships fracturing and his place as both sidekick and son, boyfriend and best friend thrown into turmoil, how will Tim Drake determine the best course of action for his future? “”Search for a Hero”” begins an epic tale that could very well turn the Boy Wonder into a man!”

I’ve been a huge ROBIN fan since I was a kid(I’m a Tim Draker- he’s my generations Robin) and this book sometimes wavers but always just hits the sweet spots of why Tim Drake is such a good character.


NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO

DC DECISIONS

DC UNIVERSE DECISIONS

I want to read this, but I don’t know why it’s being made. I know it has nothing to do with anything other than to tell us what political parties our favorite heroes are aligned with. I don’t want to know whether Superman is a Republican or Democrat. It just doesn’t matter.

SENTRY

THE AGE OF THE SENTRY #1

I’m just going to say it. Marvel seems to hate the fact that DC has Superman. They’ve created thin vailed versions of the character so they can screw with them and “show” why superman doesn’t work…it’s dumb. This is the reason Marvel and Quesada bug me, they are so prideful that they will keep putting out stuff with a highley hated character just to make a joke. The Sentry blows.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #572

I remember a time where I bought four Spidey books a month, just because it was a spidey book. Now I’m just wondering will this stupid story ever wrap up and get the hell out of the way of the possible good stories.

Leave a Reply

