Not Your Usual Review Site

PICK OF THE WEEK:Comics for 10/01/08

PICK OF THE WEEK

SUPERGIRL #34

SUPERGIRL #34

Last time a issue came out it was in the poo poo pile, but with the new direction I’m down again for more issues. The basic meat of the story is Cat Grant(Daily Planet gossip columist) writes a op ed piece about what a danger Supergirl is to Metropolis and the world. Supergirl, not being used to this type of reaction, takes it to heart. Superman, Wonder Woman, Ma and Pa Kent, and the Teen Titans try to tell her not to worry about it. Everybody feels she should get a secret identity(which always works for super people). My only gripe with this issue is her taking the last name Lang, but I guess she doesn’t want to be Kent…which with her being Clark’s cousin woulda been nice.This issue does what they kept trying to do, give Supergirl unannoyning personality and a secret identity(which also made Superboy a better character).

CHARLES’ GRADE:B+

Pick Of The Week Runner Up

BATMAN #680

BATMAN #680

I’m finally getting the Batman story I expected from the first issue of R.I.P. I loved the Joker’s anger and out and out hurt from being shot in the face by a guy dressed as Batman. He doesn’t care that it wasn’t the real Batman, it’s the principle that it’s against the rules. So good.

Honorable mention

TERROR TITANS #1

TERROR TITANS #1

  • I’ve always wondered why there weren’t more second generation villains to accompany the second generation heroes. With DC being about Legacy, it only makes sense. Hoping it stays this strong, because I want to read this story…mainly because I’m a big fan of Rose(Ravager).

*To my surprise I didn’t read anything that was awful this week. I did read the Cable issue with Bishop landing back in the present and being interrogated by the X-men but while it wasn’t really good, there just wasn’t enough in it to call it bad or good.

COVER OF THE WEEK

ETERNALS #6

ETERNALS #5

Leave a Reply

