Not Your Usual Review Site

PICK OF THE WEEK: Comics for 10/22/08

PICK OF THE WEEK

NEW KRYPTON SPECIAL #1

SUPERMAN:NEW KRYPTON SPECIAL #1

This was kind of a no brainer. This special was so good, it destroyed everything else out this week. I’m on record loving the Geoff Johns ACTION COMICS, and not liking the first arc of James Robinson on SUPERMAN. But this issue makes up for that awful Atlas storyline. October is my birth month and it also seems to be the month that SUPERMAN has taken back his top spot in the DC comic book realm. This issue deals with the funeral for Pa Kent(loved the implied BATMAN cameo at the funeral). The stuff with Clark dealing with such a huge loss was done so well it got to me. The scene where Clark finds his fathers prized possession box killed me. Superman goes to the newly resized City of Kandor and he’s happy, but understandbly worried about having about ten thousand super powered Kryptonian citizens on Earth. I like the fact that Superman isn’t naive enough to think that Earth is just going to accept these new people with all the powers of SUPERMAN on earth. This book does what DC specials for big events usually do, make me froth at the mouth for more. The ending actually shocked me because of the effects it’s going to have on Superman and mostly Lois Lane.

CHARLES’ GRADE: A+

Pick of the week Runner-Up

FINAL CRISIS #4

FINAL CRISIS #4

This is what I want from a event, it feels epic. It feels like the actions characters make in this book are actually important. I loved the scene with Green Arrow, because since the big guns are out he’s the guy who’d step up and sacrifice himself. The Barry and Wally stuff was great. Now I’m too young to know much about Barry first hand, all the knowledge I have of Barry Allen is from the IMPULSE book and the Wally West FLASH books. I’m glad he’s back because he’s considered to be the best and most serious FLASH.

POO-POO of the week

SECRET INVASION #7

SECRET INVASION #7

I never thought a giant fight issue could be boring, but I’ve been proven wrong. I don’t feel like there’s any real stakes in this story, and that’s what this story has been trying to do but it just doesn’t work. The Skrulls are lame, simple as that. I usually like Linel Yu’s work, but I’m starting to hate it. His sketchy style doesn’t really work when there’s so many people on panel, it gets out of hand. I couldn’t tell what was happening in a lot of panels. Just get it over with already, because it’s still dragging.

CHARLES’ GRADE:D

COVER OF THE WEEK

Leave a Reply

