Not Your Usual Review Site

LITTLE BIG PLANET review

This game has been out for awhile now and I just wanted to play this sandbox game on crack a bit of breathing room before reviewing it. So I’ve played through the one player story mode(I’m at the last anger inducing last boss battle), tried my hand at creating a level and played some of the totally insane user created levels. So when you start the game you HAVE to play through most of the story mode before they let you go on your own and try to make your own level. The story mode is mostly made up of training levels and also serves as inspiration. That built in inspiration is one of the best things about this game, it constantly makes you want to create bigger and better levels. The bad part about the story is that towards the end it can get insanely frustrating. I found it weird cursing at the cutsey Sackboys whenever I was mere feet from the end of a really tough level(The 2nd of the Collectors levels) and died because I got stuck on some invisible glitch.

Now while the game looks impressive and plays the same way while offline, when you go online their are some instances where the game either takes forever to load a level or just gives up on loading a level all together. I know it sounds like a nit pick, it is kind of a big deal when it happens constantly…which isn’t always the case. I love the fact that there are people out there that can wrap their minds around the INSANE level creation. I tried and I wanted to never touch the game again. So far I’ve played such levels inspired by: GHOSTBUSTERS, BACK TO THE FUTURE, NINJA WARRIOR, BATMAN:THE ANIMATED SERIES, etc. With the relatively short solo story, the user based level creation helps keep the game going.

I love this game, although it’s not perfect I find the near limitless scope of the game to be a bit daunting and impressive.

CHARLES’ GRADE: A +

PROS:NEAR LIMITLESS LONGEVITY AND POSSIBILITY, GREAT GRAPHICS, GREAT MUSIC, THE ONLY PS3 EXCLUSIVE I FIND INTERESTING

CONS:SHARED LIVES IN MULTIPLAYER KINDA BLOWS

Leave a Reply

