Not Your Usual Review Site

SHAUN WHITE SNOWBOARDING review

I have always loved snowboarding games, but I’ve never been snowboarding(had a chance but it didn’t work out). I have a long history with snowboarding games and I was excited when I heard there was going to be another snowboarding game that was going to go for ultra realism. Well from everything I’ve seen from snowboarding videos (yes I do watch snowboarding videos from time to time) it got it right. But with realism sometimes there can be boredom. The game is solid gameplay wise and also has the best looking and best laid out mountains. Now the actual game surrounding the great skeleton is pretty dumb. I don’t understand why I need to go to four different mountains to collect coins just to open up some dumb abilities that don’t really make anything better. I mean I don’t care if I can shoulder block through a wooden blockade. I feel the game trying to be the spectacular SKATE, but in SKATE I can skate back up a hill. While realistic, I don’t want to spend forever trying to walk up a snow mountain just to hit a cool spot. That’s just not fun. The controls themselves feel good, but after about 30 minutes I felt like I’d done everything I could do moves wise. I never thought about it, but since the snowboard is connected to characters feet the moves are pretty much limited to grabs. The “grinding” mechanic is too easy, I swear I could jump a couple feet back and instantly be popped on a rail. The map or sad excuse for a map is insanely frustrating when your trying to find the coins needed to progress and it sucks when you pass by a jump thinking your on your way to something and it’s actually up a hill you missed. I wanted to like this game, I really did. I can say I’d play it again, but I’d return it to Blockbuster in a hour.

CHARLES’ GRADE: C

PROS: GREAT GRAPHICS

CONS: RAIL MECHANIC IS TOO EASY, AWFUL IN GAME STORY STRUCTURE, NO REAL REASON TO PLAY THROUGH STORY, IDIOTIC COIN COLLECTING

beautiful, too bad the rest of the game was this great

beautiful, too bad the rest of the game was this great

I still remember when these graphics used to blow my mind...aww good old XBOX

I still remember when these graphics used to blow my mind...aww good old XBOX

So Old School

So Old School

Still holds the crown as the best snowboarding game ever

Still holds the crown as the best snowboarding game ever

Leave a Reply

