Not Your Usual Review Site

Sukiyaki Western Django review

I watched this movie mostly to learn from what I thought was great cinematography from the trailer. My interest was also peaked because the it was a movie from the director of the very controversial ICHI THE KILLER. TAKASHI MIIKE is infamous for very bloody,visually odd, and kinetic movies. He’s the Tarantino of Japan, which made sense when I saw that Tarantino was in the movie and barely involved(like he always does with his “presenting”). Now just like with Tarantino, I’m not a fan of Miike as a storyteller but I find his artistic choices and visuals interesting. The movie is pretty much the classic YOJIMBO done by a director with no where near the talent of Kurosawa. It’s just like when Tarantino pays “homage”(cribbing) to(from) old filmmakers. YOJIMBO is one of my favorite movies of all times and to see this odd and strangely cartoony “homage” didn’t impress me. The story is basically about a stranger coming to a town split apart by two rival gangs. DJANGO then proceeds to tell the most insanely incomprehensible/cringe inducing bad stories stuck with bad acting I’ve seen in a while…at least for a movie that strives so hard to be a grindhouse artsy flick. The movie is horrible and out right disgusting at times, but that’s what you watch a movie directed by Takashi Miike. I also didn’t understand why I had to sit through these actors awful tries at English dialogue. On the dvd there’s no option for Japanese because the actors only speak in English. Even though the dialogue is in english I still needed to turn on subtitles to even follow the dialogue. There’s also a bit at the beginning as the stranger rides into town that there’s Japanese characters on the screen, multiple times but we don’t get to know what they say. There’s even a scene towards the end where Tarantino’s character speaks Japanese but he has to repeat what he said in english because it’s not translated by the subtitles. I didn’t expect this to be good, I knew it was trying to be Grindhouse artsy or Japanese Shock(terms I’ve just come up with but fit this movie perfectly). I just wanted it to be somewhat enjoyable if they were going to rip off the story from one of my favorite movies.

CHARLES’ GRADE: F

PROS: THE DVD WORKED

CONS:THE DVD PLAYED, THE UTTER BOWEL MOVEMENT ON ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME, THE ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE DIALOGUE FOR A JAPANESE MOVIE, MIIKE’S VISUALS WEREN’T UP TO HIS USUAL QUALITY

Leave a Reply

