Not Your Usual Review Site

STAR WARS:THE CLONE WARS episode 8 review

Well I reviewed the movie and it seems I liked it more than most die-hard Star Wars fans. I knew it was a lead in story, for a show on Cartoon Network. Now while the show has oddly challenged my initial view of the show being for kids by having Grievous stab a character with a lightsaber(which you see come out towards the camera); it’s still geared for younger fans. Now with this latest episode, which is the 8th of the season; we see the most hated character in Star Wars history. JAR JAR finally shows up, and he’s wearing a Jedi Cloak.

JEDI BOMBAD

EPISODE 8: BOMBAD JEDI

So we start off the episode with Padme,C-3PO, and JAR JAR flying to meet a old friend. I like the show but sometimes the show gets dragged down by the slow parts. I really don’t want to see Padme talk to 3PO and JAR JAR about the state of the Republic. We get some quick JAR JAR hi jinks to remind us just how clumsy he is, like we all don’t have Episode I’s crap storm emblazened in our geek minds. When they land we get some more space politics and of course Padme is captured. Jar Jar and 3P0 narrowly escape being killed by JAR JAR’s inspector gadget style antics that somehow work out. He also destroys the ship they rode there. I actually liked the fact that even 3PO thinks JAR JAR is a idiot. Jar Jar finds Anakins Jedi Cloak, although he doesn’t know that. There was a nice scene of Jar Jar asking why a Jedi Cloak is in Padme’s ship and 3PO quickly changing the conversation. Jar Jar puts on the cloak and scares the crap out of everybody because they think he’s some bad ass Jedi. Padme uses that distraction and breaks free and does the usual Padme thing of all of a sudden she’s a bad ass shooter…you coulda used that when you first got captured. Also my hate for the droids keeps getting larger. Everytime I hear “Roger Roger” I want to scream, and they say it a lot in this episode. The weird frog face alien Viceroy shows up to kill Padme but she’s gone. I don’t know but for this planet to be inhabited we only see two actual aliens from the planet. Padme goes to save Jar Jar, whose trying to save her, etc. etc. We all know they get back together and capture the Viceroy. The thing is I know they were trying to make Jar Jar not a total waste, but he’ll always be overshadowed by the implied racism in his character speech. Everytime I hear him I cringe, it’s still pretty offensive. I just don’t get why they just don’t kill him and erase the memory, he’ll always be the thing that trumped the ewoks in the crap hall of fame(I love the ewoks though, so suck it).

CHARLES’ GRADE: C

PROS:IT TRIES TO REDEEM JAR JAR BINKS

CONS:ANYTIME PADME SHOWS UP ON SCREEN THE SHOW SEEMS TO BE DRAINED OF ALL FUN, JAR JAR WILL ALWAYS SUCK

Leave a Reply

