Not Your Usual Review Site

IRON MAN: ARMORED ADVENTURES Pilot Review

I totally forgot this show was coming out. It’s been so long since I last reported on the show (around the time of the movie) and it’s been at least 4 months. Other comic based cartoons have premiered already and the Iron Man cartoons buzz has died. So when I saw it online I hesitated for a second because I didn’t recognize the title. When I started watching it all the details I’d heard about the show rushed back. Instead of fully capitalizing on the movie, they decided to skew the show for the home of Sponge Bob. The show follows the idea of the movie and comic by having Tony need a fancy battery to keep his heart going. In this version though that’s where it keeps totally true to it’s source material, thankfully it strays a bit. He’s 16 years old, he’s on a plane with his dad when it blows up and somehow he survives. With his dad dead, Obadiah is in charge and he lives with Rhodey’s family. I have to say the recent introduction of the Obadiah character has left me wanting. I used to love Iron Man and current stories and Civil War have ruined my once large love for the character. Giving him a normal run of the mill tycoon bad guys is boring for a man who puts on a armored suit and flies around. I’m getting the feeling that the main focus of this show is going to be Tony trying to keep Obadiah from using his designs for weapons.

Tony Stark, Pepper Potts, James Rhodes-16 years old and loving it

Tony Stark, Pepper Potts, James Rhodes-16 years old and loving it

The design and animation of the characters isn’t bad. It’s taking a lot from MTV’s old Spider-Man cartoon, but it actually takes out details for a more simplistic look. It works for this show. I have to say I did smile when Pepper Potts first shows up drinking a soda on the roof. Although her character is nothing like the comics or movie, they created a story that fits perfectly. Pepper’s dad is in the FBI and she knows everything about Tony and Rhodey, which she has no problem rambling off for our heroes. There was also a quick couple scenes with Happy Hogan, which made me smile because hopefully he’ll become a fixture in the main cast. Even though I don’t love Iron Man as much as I used to, I have to say I still love when he’s surrounded by his supporting cast. Now they’re not as great as Superman, Batman, or even Captain America’s supporting cast they’re still cool.

The Mandarian or Super Shedder

The Mandarin or Super Shedder

Now while I loved some things I didn’t love everything. Other than my hate of Obadiah, I didn’t care for the design of The Mandarin. He looks ridiculous. I severely hope that the movie design will not in anyway mimic this awful look. I did like the twist on the character, but it was very obvious what was going to happen. It’s a stretch but it fits the shows line of thinking. Also while I think the animation is pretty good there’s a problem with it. Characters will randomly sprint off like a Scooby Doo cartoon. No character have any weight to them and thats something a cartoon featuring a lot of characters wearing metallic suits should have.

CHARLES’ GRADE: B-

PROS:SUPPORTING CAST, NEW TEENAGE LOOK AT IRON MAN

CONS:SOME CHARACTER DESIGNS ARE AWFUL, OBADIAH STANE, WEIGHTLESS CHARACTER MOVEMENT

Were good but we still need alot of work

We're good but we still need alot of work

One response

  1. Emma

    this show is seriously the best. Waaaaaaay better than any cartoon yet, even wolverine and the x-men. And the movie wasn’t that shabby either 🙂

    08/23/2009 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

