Not Your Usual Review Site

Batman:The Brave and The Bold episode 2 review

EPISODE 2: TERROR ON DINOSAUR ISLAND!

So we’re at the second episode. I didn’t love the first one, but I wasn’t going to write it off for being too 70’s. Well after watching episode number two I still feel the same way. The show isn’t awful, but when a friend asked me whether it was any good I couldn’t really respond. This cartoon is strickly fan service, but not in the way the DC character cartoons have been in the last 10 plus years. This is more in line with SUPERFRIENDS, BATMAN AND ROBIN(the quick shorts format cartoons), and SUPER POWERS. I may have grown up during the golden years, I’m still old enough to remember when all I had for comic book cartoons were re-runs of the Batman and Robin cartoon shorts. I also watched the newsreel Superman shorts. I also remember fondly watching Super Powers and The Adventures Of Super-Man(the late 80’s superman cartoon no one remembers). Those shows were made for fans but mostly quick ways to get the younger kids into those characters. This episode features PLASTIC MAN teaming up with our intrepid hero. Plastic Man also had a cartoon, which was awful. He’s also the best character to use to get younger kids into your show. He’s silly and juvinelle which makes him endearing to children. I did like how they kept his storyline close to source, which this show has been perfect in doing so far. Now they may use the happy Batman from the 70’s (costume and all), but they’re still faithful.

Fire, Plastic Man, Batman

Fire, Plastic Man, Batman

This show keeps showing me it loves the 70’s. It smacks you in the face with it in the show intro and with the episode title card. With this episode we’ve had two appearances of Dinosaur Island. I have to say the convient factor also happens a lot in this show. In the first team up of the episode Plastic Man and Batman are chasing the Phantom Stranger and Fire just happens to show up to save Bats. But it doesn’t stop there. When Bats and Plas go up against Gorilla Grodd the first time Grodd takes over his mind, but the next time they fight Bats alerts Grodd to the fact that he learned a technique for thwarting mind control in Tibet. Really? A technique in Tibet to stop him from taking over your mind, so why didn’t you use it the first time you realized it was Grodd?

Grodd and his stupid mind control hat

Grodd and his stupid mind control hat

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I hated the ending to this episode. They turned Gorilla Grodd human…not cool. I also didn’t like how they made Grodd more into a Batman villain instead of keeping him a Flash villain who just happens to hate Batman. Overall this episode was more of the same, I hope the show can find it’s stride. It doesn’t talk down to kids, but it isn’t really good for adults. The only reason I’m still gonna watch is because it’s a DC Comics cartoon and it’s the only game in town right now.

CHARLES’ GRADE: C-

PROS:PLASTIC MAN, THE PHANTOM STRANGER

CONS: GRODD NOT BEING A FLASH VILLAIN, THE CONVIENT THINGS THAT HAPPEN

IM ELEGANT, YET GANGSTA

I'M ELEGANT, YET GANGSTA

DONT MAKE FUN OF THE HAT

DON'T MAKE FUN OF THE HAT

Leave a Reply

