Not Your Usual Review Site

Kanye West-808’s and Heartbreak review

Way back when I was a contributor on a music website. It was great, it was really great experience to have somewhere to talk about Hip-Hop and my favorite Rap Label at the time, ROC-A-FELLA. ROCABLOG.COM was even recognized as blog of the month on the official ROCAFELLA.COM website. We reviewed mostly ROC-A-FELLA releases. I also remember when I first heard KANYE WEST rap about two years before COLLEGE DROPOUT came out. I knew he was going to be a big deal and three albums later he seemed like his musical genius could do no wrong. While I can’t give him a spotless record anymore, I will give him a slide on the Hip-Hop side of his catalogue because 808’s & Hearbreak isn’t a Hip-Hop cd. It’s a odd entity in itself, I’ll be interested to see where they place this cd in stores. I know this cd was made out of a creative outlet after Kanye’s mothers passing, but it’s not a good cd. The cd tries so hard to mix T-Pain with Death Cab For Cutie that it comes off forced. I do like about three or four songs, they helped me when I was dealing with the aftermath of having to put my dog down a couple weeks back. That being said when I’m not in a depressed type of mood the cd falls flat for me. Kanye wants to make a case for this to be a piece of art, but it’s not. It’s a cd from a guy that’s going through what has to be the loniest point in his life. I respect that and I applaud him for it, but I can’t recommend the cd or even promote buying it. I want to so much, because I feel that if it fails Kanye will have to do some real soul searching. I also don’t believe it will fail, mostly just because it has Kanye’s name on it and not because it’s a terribley good album. A friend of mine, Chris, said it best: “He’s just trying to hard…and it’s just not good.” Exactly what I was thinking.

CHARLES’ GRADE: C

PROS: ‘COLDEST WINTER’, THE CHEESY “OKAY OKAY” LINE FROM ‘ROBOCOP’

CONS: EMO IS BEST HANDLED BY DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE NOT THE LUIS VOTTON DON, UNDERWHELMING AND SOMETIMES OVERLY ANNOYNING PRODUCTION CHOICES, THE EMO T-PAIN SOUND IS NOT THAT HOT

Leave a Reply

