Not Your Usual Review Site

LUDACRIS: THEATER OF THE MIND review

I was never a big fan of Ludacris in the past. I recognized his lyrical talent, but never connected with his material outside of random radio play. Ludacris was always put in my “Clown Shoes” rapper category. It’s the kind of category where when you pass a artists cd you chuckle at people picking it up, I know it can come off as a tad bit elitist but it’s how I used to feel about his material. That was until RELEASE THERAPY came out, I listened to it on a whim and found that Ludacris had finally shed his clown antics with is old braids. I’m a 26 year old Hip-Hop fan, it’s a weird position to be in. Fans who are in my generation grew up with BIGGIE, TUPAC, NAS, LL COOL J, WU TANG CLAN, and JAY-Z. I have to say we’re the greatest Hip Hop generation. Which is why most of my peers don’t like the newer rappers because they’re just not of the same quality, but there are exceptions. T.I comes to mind as a guy who’s of my generation who also grew up with those rappers, but on the flip side there’s Lil Wayne who is the same age as me but I don’t know many people my age who like him as much as my younger cousins(who are 18, 14, 12 respectfully). It’s a weird thing being a older fan of Hip Hop. Ludacris is also in the company of a T.I where he’s a little older than me and the majority of his fans are my age. I used to not be apart of that club until now. THEATER OF THE MIND is a really solid cd. Now I did listen to this after listening to the new Kanye West cd and that might have colored the way I saw it. From the intro rap (which Ludacris seems to cherish the chance to start the cd off to a great start) to the last song it’s solid front to back. Now that being said I don’t love every song. I didn’t really care for the Jaime Fox collabo, mostly because of my dislike of Fox’s tendency to “over sing.” I also didn’t love the hook for MVP because I’ve never really been able to rock to a song with a repeatedly scratched mix match of lyrics that makes up a hook. I also found myself loving the most recent radio single, ‘One More Drink’. That in itself is strange because I usually hate the radio singles on a cd. With this cd coming out the same time as Kanye’s I’m hoping that this actually outsells Kanye’s a little bit. It’s the better cd of the two and should be the winner to be fair.

CHARLES’ GRADE: B+

PROS:LUDACRIS CONTINUES THE STEP TO RAPPER TO BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY STARTED WITH RELEASE THERAPY

CONS: THE OVER SINGING JAIME FOX AND THE SCRATCHED MIX MATCH HOOK ON ‘MVP’

Leave a Reply

