Not Your Usual Review Site

SONIC:UNLEASHED review

image taken from Amazon.com

image taken from Amazon.com

Over the Thanksgiving Holiday I finally got my hands on the latest next gen Sonic game. From what I heard about the first one from Joe it’s a good thing I passed on Sonic The Hedgehog. I went into this game hoping to get just a ounce of the same joy I got during the classic SONIC ADVENTURE on the Dreamcast. Well I didn’t and I also didn’t enjoy the entire game.

Noooooo, he wanted Sonic Adventure and got Sonic Unleashed

Noooooo, he wanted Sonic Adventure and got Sonic Unleashed

The opening cinematic was great, the quality of the images where great. I actually got really invested in the story to start off. Then you go to earth and the game starts. There are A LOT of cinematics in the game and they can grate on your nerves pretty quickly. They are really long, and when I say long I mean long. I started to get annoyed when I couldn’t stand the staggering length anymore. The voice acting is good, but the dialogue itself is cheesy.

This can happen to the earth and its still there? Whyd they have to put Superman in a rocket?

This can happen to the earth and it's still there? Why'd they have to put Superman in a rocket?

For some reason Sega feels that just making a solid Sonic game just isn’t enough anymore, and that thinking has spawned countless failures. Does anybody remember the Sonic hoverboard racing game? No didn’t think so. With this one we get the added “fun” of turning into a werehog. I wasn’t one of the many fans who bawked at the idea, I just wanted to wait and see if it would be a good thing or a bad thing. Well bad thing it is. I never thought I’d have to complain about not getting enough Sonic time in a Sonic game, those days are long gone. The levels with Sonic are quick, you blink and they’re over. They look so great that it’s a shame they weren’t longer. The werehog levels on the other hand last at least three times longer, they border on gameplay punishment. Who plays a Sonic game for a beat ’em up? Add in some tacked on platforming and you’ve got a less interesting Crash Bandicoot game. I remember when Sonic was the King and Crash was just some slow rip off, well they’re now on the same level. Like Crash I don’t think that Sonic will ever get a good next gen game. I really miss the Crash and Sonic games from the Dreamcast and PS One eras. Oh how we miss those that weren’t with us long.

CHARLES’ GRADE: C-

PROS:DAY TIME SONIC LEVELS FLASH A BIT OF THE GOOD OLD DAYS

CONS: WEREHOG LEVELS BLOW, BOSS BATTLES ARE ANNOYING, INSANELY HARD TO EVEN WALK AS SONIC

He compared us with Crash Bandicoot? How far the great have fallen.

He compared us with Crash Bandicoot? How far the great have fallen.

Leave a Reply

