Not Your Usual Review Site

Charles’ Pick of the Week: Comics for 12/04/08

PICK OF THE WEEK

TERROR TITANS #3

TERROR TITANS #3

This week was kinda hard to pick; Secret Invasion didn’t totally suck, JUSTICE SOCIETY was really food, Batman R.I.P is finally tying into FINAL CRISIS, and some mini series’ surprised me. But at the end of the day I decided the book that excited me the most. TERROR TITANS is a DC Comics mini following the evil teen titans team that CLOCK KING created to fight the regular Titans. This is a bad guy team mini series that actually protrays them as villains. Usually to get a bad guy book the team has to either be pretending to be good guys or something(MARVEL I’m talking bout you), but in this book they kill. If you would have told me that DC comics would be putting out a mini series where multiple people are getting murdered in a book, I wouldn’t have believed you. I do have a issue with the odd abundance of electrical powered individuals in the DC universe but with this newest addition I can let it pass. The last page made my jaw drop, I had started reading this book in the beginning because I’d heard it would be happening but I enjoyed the book so much I had forgotten. When I saw STATIC on the last page I fully realized that DC is the place for me. STATIC was a huge favorite of mine while in middle school until the book stopped, I even watched the pretty low standard cartoon. STATIC is as important to me as SUPERBOY, ROBIN, and IMPULSE were and are. STATIC was created for me and my friends to feel like we where finally represented in comics. I woulda preferred the original design over the cartoon one but I’ll take what I can get.

Oh yeah, this takes me back.

Oh yeah, this takes me back.

CHARLES’ GRADE:B

PICK RUNNER UP

JUSTICE SOCIETY #21

JUSTICE SOCIETY #21

  • This book is consistently the best team book coming out in comics. I’m started to get a theory that with KINGDOM COME Superman coming to EARTH-1 that he’s the reason all this stuff is happening. I found it really cool that so much stuff from KINGDOM COME showed up in this issue, it threw me back a second but then I remembered some of the smaller details of KINGDOM COME and recognized them. I’m very interested to see how this ends and how the team goes on from here. Weird thing is I’m more excited for the remaining status quo than the end to this big fight.

‘POO POO’ of the week

NOIR #1

X-MEN: NOIR #1

Okay,this book was boring. I found myself counting how many pages I had left before the end rather fast. I like noir movies, but god this was boring. I didn’t recognize anyone, hardly anyone looks like their regular counterpart. For instance there’s a head of a gambling operation who’s name is REMY(GAMBIT) but I couldn’t tell that he was supposed to be GAMBIT because he looked nothing like him. Same thing goes for BISHOP and bunch of others. I also didn’t really understand why the X-MEN were criminals, it’s just dumb. I’d expect them to be the law but whatever. And there were a lot of names that I didn’t recognize and I’ve been reading X-MEN comics since the 3rd grade. Overall boring, uninspired and crappy artwork.

COVER OF THE WEEK

HAUNTED TANK #1

HAUNTED TANK #1

3 responses

  1. Reality

    Dumb picks. Bad writing. Worst blog.

    12/09/2008 at 5:00 am

  2. Reality

    ” I also didn’t really understand why the X-MEN were criminals, it’s just dumb. ”

    Maybe you should have read it, genius

    12/09/2008 at 2:23 pm

  3. charlesscales

    I read it a couple of times because I wanted to like it. I don’t mind if you don’t agree with my picks because that’s why I do them, just to get my thoughts out there. Maybe one week we’ll enjoy the same books. But we probably won’t because that’s the point of comics, there’s something out there for everyone.

    12/09/2008 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

