Not Your Usual Review Site

THE CLONE WARS episode 9- ‘Cloak Of Darkness’ or Now I really Hate Ahsoka

EPISODE 9- CLOAK OF DARKNESS

EPISODE 9- CLOAK OF DARKNESS

This episode starts off right after the last episode with Viceroy Nute Gunray being transported to a alliance outpost to await trial. In this episode we finally get to see some soldiers that aren’t clones, and we get the first animated appearance of  Jedi master LUMINARA UNDULI. For some reason Ashoka is with Lumiara and they do battle with the Sith Assassin VENTRESS, who’s out to either rescue the Viceroy or kill him. According to STARWARS.COM Paul Dini wrote this episode, which surprised me. Overall I didn’t hate the episode but it finally showed me the light on how I felt about Ahsoka before…I freaking hate her. Fellow ‘Tipper’ Joe has always commented on how much he hated her, but I was always her defender. It’s not that I liked her before, it’s just that I didn’t mind her being made up for the show, and I still don’t. My problem with Ahsoka is that she’s really, really annoying. She’s constantly disobeying orders and acting like a spoiled brat, if this is supposed to help me like her it’s an epic fail.

Playing Bad Cop

Playing annoying Bad Cop

As Joe told me today, “She’s everything a Jedi’s not.” With this episode I’m inclined to agree, although it’s not entirely the characters fault. I blame the writers for constantly having her undermine authority and never having it blow up in her face. The character has other peoples lives in her hands and she’s prone to temper tantrums and disobeying orders. Her constantly doing that makes her annoying and it’s even more annoying that she never experiences the downside of being a kid, thinking you know everything and being wrong. Now’s she’s been wrong before, but it’s never been anything too big and she’s always saved at the last minute, thus she never learns a thing about patience and obedience.

The fight scenes in this were good and the level of violence certainly earned the TV-PG label. In this episode we get a beheading and visible chest spearing, which makes the 2nd visible chest spearing this show that comes on Cartoon Network has had. All I need is a little less Ahsoka, or a bit of growth for the character and I’ll be satisfied or at least I won’t groan when I see her on an episode.

CHARLES’ GRADE: B-

PROS: THE RECENT UPSWING OF VIOLENCE MAKES THE SHOW HAVE SOME REAL CONSEQUENCES

CONS: THOSE CONSEQUENCES ARE UNDERMINED EVERYTIME NOTHING HAPPENS TO AHSOKA WHEN SHE ACTS IN A STUPID MANNER

And...thats two chest stabbings on Cartoon Network

And...that's two visible chest stabbings on Cartoon Network

2 responses

  1. JT7335

    The irony is, Ahsoka kind of sounds like you!

    She’s SUPPOSED to be learning, supposed to be impetuous, supposed to be smug, because she thinks she knows it all and she doesn’t. Which is what Luminara helped her see in last week’s episode.

    I have this sneaking suspicion that you just look for things to hate in “Star Wars” because Lucas didn’t make the movies YOU wanted him to make with the prequels, he made the story HE wanted to tell, and that offended your sense of entitlement, for which you can never forgive him.

    For me, Ahsoka’s awesome. She’s going to become a Jedi, but she has a long way to go. Whatever Plo Koon saw in her, few others see. But it’s there. Amid the noise. I feel for her, I understand the frustration she feels, because we all feel it every day in our lives when people get us angry or situations make us lose our temper. She’s us. And she’s changing.

    12/11/2008 at 9:25 pm

  2. charlesscales

    Lol I feel where your coming from on the last part but the part about me is totally off. I enjoyed the prequels(except the race sequence) and I’m always saying that people who bag on the new star wars can’t be mad at Lucas for doing anything because they’re his characters and not ours. It’s easy to lump any Star Wars fan who says criticizes something Star Wars related into the lot of Lucas haters, but I’m no where near those guys. I don’t hate Ahsoka, I just don’t like her that much. Like I said in the first part of the review, I liked her(one of the only Star Wars people I knew who did) but I’m kinda bored with her being a brat. That’s it, I don’t like people who act like that in my general life and I’m not a fan of it in my entertainment. Don’t hate her, just if she was someone I knew I wouldn’t want to be around her until she matured a little bit. Thanks for the comment.

    12/11/2008 at 9:43 pm

Leave a Reply

