Not Your Usual Review Site

What I watched this week:Charles

Another week has passed and while I’ve been oddly busy(sorry Alex hopefully I’ll get a chance to call you back, I’m swamped) I still managed to watch some stuff while shrugging off sleep.

PALE COCOON

PLOT SUMMARY: It has been many years since a group of humans retreated to an artificial colony above the planet surface. The colorful world that used to exist was ruined by human foolishness, making it uninhabitable. Much of recorded history before the move has been forgotten, despite the numerous advances in technology. The last remaining information lies in a vast archive of data, much of it in corrupted formats. Determined to recover this precious information, the “Archive Excavation Department” works specifically to restore as much of it as possible. Long ago, the Department used to be excited and full of energy. Now, people know that knowledge of the lost past can bring only sadness.

Ura, a particularly motivated member of the department, works long hours to recover history. Riko has lost her passion and desire to know. Then one day, Ura comes upon a record that once decoded, completely changes the way he sees his world.

WIKIPEDIA

  • Oh boy…I watched this because it was just a 20 minute OAV and at the end I was sorry I made the effort. I’m starting to think that since I watched 5 CENTIMETERS PER SECOND and loved it so much I’ve thrown my anime karma off. Every new anime I’ve picked since that I’ve freaking hated. This was soooo boring and ultimateLy it makes absolutely no sense. Wow…just awful.

MY NAME IS BRUCE

PLOT SUMMARY: My Name is Bruce is the heroic struggle of a small mining town (Gold Lick, Oregon) to rid itself of a vengeful monster. Guan-di (Jamie Peck), the Chinese god of war and protector of the dead, has been unleashed by cemetery desecrating teenagers to protect the graves of Chinese miners lost in a deadly cave-in of yesteryear. Against his better judgment (and the angry citizens of Gold Lick), Bruce looks defeat Guan-Di, save Jeff, and snag his hot mother. In the climactic, mano-a-monster, Bruce tries to rise above the miserable, off-screen schmuck that he is and become a hero in real life.

Imdb.com(mostly)

  • Everyday I’m reminded that sometimes you can’t go home again. I still love Army of Darkness, more so than the first two evil deads but I’m not a fan of the cheesy Bruce Campbell stuff anymore. I love him on Burn Notice and never want him to leave that show, but when he goes to the well again and does the comedic it doesn’t do anything for me. He’s funny on Burn Notice, but it’s not in that Bruce Campbell in a cheesy horror movie way. I was impressed that he directed this movie, but at the end of the day I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

FLASHBACKS OF A FOOL

PLOT SUMMARY:Daniel Craig stars as Joe, a self-destructive English actor living in California and trapped in a mundane cycle of excess. News of the death of a childhood friend, and the sudden collapse of his movie career, pushes Joe over the edge, and he attempts suicide by throwing himself into the ocean. Drifting in the Pacific, we are taken back to Joe’s teenage years in a sleepy English hamlet. We learn of Joe’s relationship with Evelyn, a relationship which ended in tragedy and forced him to flee home for a new life.

WIKIPEDIA

  • I liked this but was kinda underwhelmed by it. I thought the bits with Daniel Craig were great and really interesting, but when you go back in time to him as a teen it kinda drags. I would have liked to see what his childhood friend Boots was like as an adult but we don’t get to because Joe didn’t get to know him as an adult. On some level I could relate to this movie, but I woulda liked it to have been more of the rich material in the moment and less about the  flacid flashback.
Leave a Reply

