Not Your Usual Review Site

MILK review

MILK

MILK

MILK is a bio pic about the first openly gay elected official, HARVEY MILK. The film follows him from New York to The Castro in San Fransico. The movie builds up to his death by the hands of a former collegue. I’m not known as the biggest fan of Gus Van Sant overall, so when this movie was announced I kinda brushed it off. But soon I found myself wanting to see it, mostly for Sean Penn. Well watching this movie I found myself forgetting that I was watching Sean Penn, because I had gotten so into the story that his “persona” disappeared.

Gus Van Sant

Gus Van Sant

The direction in this movie seems to be so handsoff, by way of just letting the actors feel a scene out. I would love to see some production diaries on how this film was made, it’s just so effortless. Van Sant usually has a lot of empty “space” in his movies where no one is saying anything and there is no sound, but it’s not as rampant throughout this movie. Van Sant covers up his usual “loud silence” by inserting news reel which could take you out of the movie, but it’s done in a way to complement the movie. I’m a 80’s kid, but when I think of the 70’s I instantly think of this films color scheme. It’s similar to what David Fincher did with ZODIAC, in that everything has a muted almost washed out look. To get back to the acting I have to say that everyone did a really good job, but I wasn’t blown away by some. Emile Hirsh’s character, Cleve Jones, was pretty basic but he was alright. I find it funny that my perceived, and that’s all I’ve gotten from interviews, persona for James Franco always comes through no matter what the part. I enjoy his work, not Flyboys of course, but I do enjoy his work. With Josh Brolin, I thinks he’s a great actor and at times he was really excellent in this, but he really didn’t get a chance to do a lot before the end. It’s hard to come up with new “insights” into this film because it’s been reviewed by movie critics who are a million times better than me. All I can say is, I was slightly moved by this movie. I knew I believed in basic human rights and the idea that someone would want to deny people the same rights as everyone else boggles my mind, but I guess what my parents tried to do worked. They wanted me to grow up to be someone who didn’t judge people by anything other than their character.

CHARLES’ GRADE: A

PROS: A MOVING FILM, THE DIRECTION, THE ESSENTIAL 70’S COLOR SCHEME

CONS:SOME CHARACTERS WERE A LITTLE MUCH AT TIMES SOME CHARACTERS DIDN’T GET ENOUGH SCREEN TIME TO DO ANYTHING SPECIAL

Leave a Reply

