Not Your Usual Review Site

What I watched this week:Charles

With Christmas hitting this week, I crammed most of my movie watching into Friday. Spent most of the week running around here and there to different functions and get togethers. Why am I so busy during the holidays? Couldn’t answer that since I usually don’t do much other than working on a couple different ventures at once. Hopefully with the coming new year I’ll settle down and focus all my energy on one goal at a time.

RESIDENT EVIL:DEGENERATION

plot summary: Claire and Leon are once again thrust together to fight the spread of another virus outbreak, but this time everything is not what it seems to be.

  • I finally got around to finishing this and I have to say it’s not really good. It’s not terrible either, it’s just kind of there. I admit I’m familiar with the games, but have never had any interest in the stories because I don’t like “survival horror” games. I understand whats great about them, I just choose not to participate. As far as the movie goes, I have to say the visuals are really impressive. That being said everyone has that plastic shiny skin thing going on. I don’t know if anybody remembers that episode of REAL SEX when they featured the real life sex dolls, but every female character looks like those sex dolls and it’s kinda creepy. I coulda used more zombies, I never cared for the Resident Evil style monsters that always take up the story towards the end of the games. If your a fan of the series you should like it alot, but from the outside looking in I dig why people love it, I just don’t share that love.

THE HOUSE BUNNY

Plot summary: Shelley, a playboy bunny, is kicked out of the mansion the day after her 27th birthday. Homeless and directionless she becomes the house mother to the worst sorority house at a college.

  • I knew I shouldn’t have watched this movie from everything I heard, but I still did. Wow. It’s not good. It’s really not good. There were times I thought for a second I was watching one of the “movie genre spoof movie” movies Ana Farris broke out in. In spite of this movie I still think Collin Hanks(ORANGE COUNTY), EMMA STONE(SUPERBAD), and KAT DENNINGS(40 YEAR OLD VIRGIN) are really talented…too bad the movie wasn’t. I like this better when it was called RISE OF TAJ or Revenge of the nerds.

ROLE MODELS

Plot Summary: After Danny(Paul Rudd) freaks out and gets co-worker/unofficial best friend, Wheeler(Sean William Scott), and himself in trouble the two have to mentor two kids who have their own problems to deal with.

  • This movie was funny as hell. I went into it not really expecting anything, but it surprised me how much I liked it. To be fair it is pretty paint by the numbers, but the improv nature of the actors in the movie save it. This movie has a kind of ‘who’s who’ of improv comedians and it makes the movie great.

HAMLET 2

PLOT SUMMARY:Dana Marschz’s (Steve Coogan) unsuccessful acting career and life help to spawn the creation of a sequel to one of the greatest works in theater history, which is then made into a school play.

  • This movie was so funny I was caught off guard. I kinda “knew” I was going to enjoy it, but I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I did. I’m a huge fan of Steve Coogan, from his British tv shows but wish he’d do more movies and this is a prime example of why. So good.
Leave a Reply

