Not Your Usual Review Site

‘THE SPIRIT’ review

Well I’m going to try and keep this short because I don’t wanna remember this movie for longer than I have to. I went into this movie expecting it to be bad, it’s hard not to from the commercials that ran. Seeing the trailer and knowing Frank Miller’s style I expected to hate the dialogue and the overall writting. I went mostly to see if I could find some joy in the camp and visual style that Frank Miller can’t seem to shed for his life. Even with those low expectations this movie disappointed. The movies just out and out awful, this is what I’ve been saying about Frank Miller’s writting since after his stint on DAREDEVIL and BATMAN:YEAR ONE (the only Frank Miller stories I think are of any real quality). He’s got such a hard on for “Noir” speak that his overall work suffers. The Spirit basically has no reason for being made because it accomplishes nothing. It’s all visual and no substance, which is the Frank Miller way. The acting is so annoyingly campy I think Adam West and Willam Shatner would be embrassed. The only real shining light in this SIN CITY clone is the women, who are some of the hottest women around. The Spirit and The Octopus can’t die, so how do they relate drama…well there isn’t any. The base of suspense is that The Octopus is trying to become a god before The Spirit can stop him, and all the pretended suspense is under mined constantly because they keep telling us that they can heal fast.

I didn’t read the original Spirit comics, but I have read the Batman crossovers and the awesome relaunch of the series by DARWIN COOKE. I didn’t hate SIN CITY, but I didn’t love it either…in movie or comic form. The same goes for 300, I initially liked the idea of taking a comic and making it a movie but by the end I felt it was a  lazy and gutless way to keep fanboys from getting pissed. Doing a strict shot for shot version of a comic is pointless because I could just read the comic. That being said, I too get annoyed when movies take the essence of a character and change it but that’s what makes comics and film so different. I get mad, but I get over it. I don’t fault Frank Miller for trying to do something “different” with The Spirit. I fault him because it was lazy awful movie that just rehashed the look and feel of his earlier Dark Horse stuff.

CHARLES’ GRADE: D-

PROS:EVA MENDES, SCARLETT JOHANSSON, PAZ VEGA, THE YOUNG DENNY COLE AND SAND SAREFF PARTS, THE COUPLE THAT GOT UP AND LEFT NOT EVEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE MOVIE, FRANK MILLER’S COP CHARACTER GETTING HIS HEAD CHOPPED OFF

CONS: THE MOVIE, THE FACT THAT SOMEBODY PUT UP THE MONEY AND TIME FOR THIS TO BE MADE

Leave a Reply

