Not Your Usual Review Site

SPECTACULAR SPIDER-MAN season 2: Episode 2 review

Episode 2: Destructive Testing

I’ve been on a little mini vacation from the site due to a very interesting rental of sorts, but now I’m back to what I do best… Piss off the interwebs with my style of reviews. Since I passed off future Wolverine and The X-Men reviews to Joe (I’m tired of hating on it, so I thought it was Joe’s turn) and I’m taking Spectacular Spider-Man for myself. Episode 2 of the second season is called “Destructive Testing” and features a old favorite of mine, Kraven. So while watching this episode I was really excited to see another classic villain from Spider-Man’s cabal of foes, which to be honest isn’t that great a list. Kraven was always really interesting to me because he was essentially a superior hunter that grew bored of chasing animals and wanted what he considered to be the ultimate prey, Spider-Man. He’s the main villain of my number one favorite story in a Spider-Man book, KRAVEN’S LAST HUNT. So you can imagine I was ready to love him animated like I have in every Spider-Man cartoon over the years. Well, I did and I didn’t.

Kraven Foiled

To catch a predator

Kraven shows up twice in this episode, the first time he’s just the usual Kraven. Overconfident and smug is the kinda Kraven I expect. It’s the kinda Kraven I got…at first. After Kraven is bested by Spider-Man he gives his scent to his Lion friend who then goes around the city looking for him. Kraven finally reaches The Conners lab and runs into a pretty jerk off of a scientist who is trying to co-opt Conner’s research(the same research that made him the Lizard) and use it. Well I think you know where we’re going here, Kraven decides that he wants the same treatment that he believes Spider-Man got from this guy and becomes a Thundercats reject. As soon as they made Kraven into a man cat I checked out. I’m getting the feeling that every normal human Spider-Man villain is gonna have to go through some experiment to make them more attractive for childrens’ action figures. The episode overall wasn’t too bad, but the Kraven thing ruined it for me.

WTF?

WTF?

CHARLES’ GRADE: C+

PROS: KRAVEN (IN THE BEGINNING)

CONS: KRAVEN (AT THE END)

"Don't you think it's a little weird to be hugging a kid from behind like that?"

2 responses

  1. paroofca

    ye… kraven was so cool at the first look… altought never like him much in comics, but scene before opening and first half of the episode was realy good

    07/16/2009 at 4:25 pm

  2. Quimera

    I felt the same, I hoped that it would be a one chapter thing, but he then returned with the same lion-o look and i got really dissapointed, that whole thing of combining the character of Kraven with that of puma wasnt really the greatest move!

    10/13/2009 at 5:21 am

Leave a Reply

