Not Your Usual Review Site

Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse: A Whedon fans first impression

So I’ve been a fan of Whedon’s stuff since the Buffy The Vampire Slayer movie came out (I can’t tell you how many times I rented it from Roses or Phar Mor). That being said I’m not one of those fans who thinks Whedon can do no wrong. I didn’t really enjoy Buffy when she went to college, but still watched until the switch to UPN when I stopped enjoying the show and stopped watching. I really didn’t enjoy Angel enough as a character to continue watching past the first season. When Whedon is on he’s on, but like most creators his stuff can suffer from being too similar. Firefly and the movie Serenity are some of my favorite things ever but when I heard he was doing another show with Fox I can’t say I was too excited. I think Eliza Dushku is attractive and loved her as Faith, but I’ve never really thought she was a good actress by any stretch of the imagination. Dollhouse is a show that should play to her strengths as a pretty bland character actor, but it’s hard to feel anything for a character/actress who seems to have the personality of a piece of paper. That seeming lack of personality seems to be in every bit of this show. There’s really no one to get behind, except about 3 characters. The other characters are either annoying or just frustrating in their oddly short sighted views. I know there’s only been three episodes but I have yet to feel like the show has gotten really interesting yet. I’m going to try and stick it out, hey if I can still watch Heroes (or the boring re-adventures of the X-Men) then I can deal with any boring show. At least with Joss Whedon it has a chance to get better.

2 responses

  1. James17930

    I definitely think it’s going to get better. Give it time.

    03/03/2009 at 7:12 am

  2. charlesscales

    I believe that as well, but isn’t that a bad business practice on Whedon and Company’s part. Lets make the show slow and not all that entertaining so that we can maybe get better down the line…if we make it. I’d like a show to try and start off at least kinda good so that if it gets picked up I’ll care.

    03/03/2009 at 10:08 pm

Leave a Reply

