Not Your Usual Review Site

Watchmen review

Watchmen: The movie they said never could be made

Watchmen: The movie they said never could be made

I’m just gonna say it now so people can rant at me: “I don’t really care for the Watchmen comic.” While I do see and understand why people rant and rave about it, I put it in the same category I put Citizen Kane in. Like Citizen Kane, Watchmen is a great story, but it’s pretty boring…to me. When I was younger I felt like I “needed” to go along with the crowd and say how great it was, but after rereading it last year and watching the motion comic recently I feel like there’s alot of good stuff in it, but there’s also alot of stuff that literally grinds the interesting parts to a hault. When the movie was announced and actually got made I was interested to see if Zack Synder could “trim the fat” so to speak. Thankfully(in my eyes) he did. Gone is the really boring (to me) Black Freighter allegory stuff and meetings and conversations are either smashed together or cut (thank god, the Rorschach and Moloc stuff is so much better trimmed down).

Thank you for just having this be a cameo and not a part of the movie proper. Ill skip that Black Freighter DVD though.

Thank you for just having this be a cameo and not a part of the movie proper. I'll skip that Black Freighter DVD though.

While watching the movie it was much easier to get the feeling of dread that I just couldn’t make myself feel for the characters in the comic. I loved seeing the characters living and breathing, although at times some of the performances were a bit stiff. Like in the comic I instantly took a liking of Rorschach, Niteowl, and Silk Spectre II. After seeing  Jackie Earl Haley’s performance as Rorschach I’ll watch anything he’s in, although I already have but it was mostly cause he was in Bad News Bears. To me this movie works because there aren’t any huge stars, because it makes it easier to “believe” them as the characters for almost three hours.  I already know I’m not going to be popular for saying I didn’t really like the comic, that along with me preferring the film I also prefer the films ending to the story. I’m not going to spoil the comic ending cause I’m not that guy, but this ending while frustrating and kinda neatly scrubbed over I don’t mind.  I may really like the movie and the movie’s ending but I can see a lot of people not liking either. I can see the comic book purists who don’t want movies based on comics to have their own thing (I can be that way sometimes but I understand what makes the two art forms so different) and people who know nothing of the story being bored if they go into it expecting just another popcorn flick. This isn’t Iron Man, this is Watchmen.

CHARLES GRADE: A

PROS: TRIMMING THE FAT, GOOD NO BIG NAME CAST, NOT A POPCORN FLICK

CONS: SOME STIFF ACTING HERE AND THERE, NO CAPTAIN METROPOLIS AT THE LAST MEETING

Leave a Reply

